Current Size: 100%

Student Government

Student Government plays an important role on Howard University's campus, as it gives students and student leaders many opportunities to actively affect the direction of the university and promote productive change on campus.


The Howard University Student Association (HUSA)

The Howard University Student Association (HUSA) is more than just student government on Howard's campus. HUSA has become the eyes, ears and voice for the Student Body. Since it was established in 1961, HUSA has aimed to become a mechanism for effective change on Howard's campus.

Functioning as a rallying point for activitists and academics alike, its purpose is to provide input into the University's decision-making process; to act as a spokesperson for the students; and to maintain communications concerning students' interests and concerns in all of the university's schools and colleges.

HUSA includes within its domain:

  • the entire student body
  • a legislative branch known as the HUSA Senate which consists of representatives from all undergraduate and graduate schools and colleges
  • (2) two programming bodies: the Undergraduate Student Assembly (UGSA) and the Graduate Student Assembly (GSA)
  • a judicial branch known as the Policy Board which interprets the HUSA constitution
  • the executive branch, which includes the HUSA President and Vice President and their staff.

For decades, HUSA has shaped, formed, and influenced the direction of Howard University . . . and the work continues. HUSA has numerous ways for you to become involved, including volunteering and becoming a member of the executive staff.

Student Trustees

Each year an undergraduate and graduate student are elected as student trustees for Howard University. As student trustees they are allowed to sit as an active member of the Howard University Board of Trustees and advocate for the concerns of the student body.

Current Administration

HUSA Executive

  • Executive President  - Amos Jackson III
  • Executive Vice President - Mara Peoples

HUSA Senate

  • Chair – Kayla York
  • Vice Chair – Ammon Lyle


  • President – Roxie Pugh
  • Vice President  - Sadijah Wallace


  • Ebony McCovery
  • Dylan WIlson

Student Trustees

  • Undergraduate - Julia Osagie
  • Graduate - TBD

Student/School Councils

Each university school and college has its own student council to address the needs and concerns of students. These councils interact with each other and with HUSA to solve specific problems within each school as well as university-wide issues.

  • College of Arts and Sciences Student Council
  • School of Business Student Council
  • School of Communications Student Council
  • School of Dentistry Student Council
  • School of Divinity Student Council
  • School of Education Student Council
  • College of Engineering, Architecture, and Computer Science Student Assembly
  • Graduate Business School Student Council
  • College of Nursing & Allied Health Sciences Student Council
  • School of Pharmacy Student Council
  • Graduate Student Council
  • College of Medicine Student Council
  • Social Work Student Government Association
  • Student BAR Association


Student Elections are held twice every year. A General Election is held in the Spring when the majority of student government officials are elected. There is also a Special Election in the Fall where students can run for positions that were not filled in the previous election. Elections are administered by the Elections Commisssioner who is appointed by the HUSA Executive Branch and approved by the HUSA Senate.

Students who wish to run for student government positions must attend an interest meeting before each election and adhere to the rules and regulations of the Student Elections Code.

All elected officials serve one-year terms. Below is a list of all the elected student government positions:

  • HUSA President and Vice President
  • Undergraduate and Graduate Student Trustees
  • HUSA Senators
  • UGSA and GSA Representatives
  • Local School and Colleges Student Council Presidents, Vice Presidents, Treasurers, and Secretaries
  • Local Schools and Colleges Freshman Class Council Presidents, Vice Presidents, Treasurers, and Secretaries.

Our Mission

The Division Student Affairs supports the mission of the University by providing student-centered, high quality programs that promote an appreciation of diversity and foster a strong university community.


Address & Phone

Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
2400 Sixth Street, Suite 201
Washington, DC 20059

Telephone: 202-806-2100 
Fax: 202-806-9302